Madison Gutzman – April 2022

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is horizon-health-care-logo-1024x314.png


Madison Gutzmann

Yankton High School junior, Madison Gutzmann, has been named Student of the Month by Horizon Health Care and Hot Country 93.1. She was nominated by a teacher at Yankton High School, who said her kind persona brings comfort and security to any student who sits near her.

“She’s an absolute joy to have in class. She should be the student of the month for her work ethic, her ability to ask questions, her pure kindness that will fill you up enough to last an entire month, and her leadership skills she secretly, and unknowingly, uses. Maddie works hard to understand and to learn; students see the tenacity and eagerness she possesses – even with missing class one day a week every week. She is just a pleasure to have.”

– YHS Nominator

Gutzmann is involved in theatre, music and National Honor Society. She was a part of the honor roll and roll of excellence during her time at YHS. Maddie also received the Excellence of Music Award and Academic Excellence Award.

Her Hobbies and interests include traveling, being outside, hiking, playing the piano, and painting.

Gutzmann is the daughter of Michelle Peterson and Jonathan Gutzmann. After high school she plans to attend the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and major in psychology with a minor in Spanish.

The “Student of the Month” is awarded through a partnership of Horizon Health Care and Hot Country 93.1 in Yankton, South Dakota and recognizes exceptional students in the Yankton School District. Horizon Health Care offers health care and dental services to the cities of Yankton, Elk Point, and Alcester in the Hot Country 93.1 listening area.

Beginning January of 2022 a student of the month is selected each month of the school year. Horizon Health Care selects an outstanding student and awards them with a recognition certificate and a small token, and is recognized on Hot Country 93.1 radio. Officials from Yankton High School nominate students for the award.